My Faith…

I am a Christian.  What does that mean?

Well, that means I believe in God, a Christian God.  The only God.  That means I believe in the trinity.  I believe in God in the form of the father, the son, and the holy spirit.  I believe what is written in the Bible, and I believe that the Bible was inspired by God himself.

Today we have so many flavors of Christianity.  The Bible has been interpreted in so many ways, and frankly, some take so much liberty with what is written that Christianity warps into something other than what I believe to be Christianity.  So here is what I believe.

God created heaven and earth, and everything on earth.

Christ is God, in the form of man, that God sent down to earth to save us from our sin.  He lived among us, lived a sinless life, died on the cross as a sacrifice for our sins, rose again in three days and now sits in heaven.  God’s love for us is so great, he gives us a way out of our sinful lives.  The way out is through his son Jesus Christ.  If we believe in him, and we follow his two commandments, we will be saved.  His two commandments:

  1. You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.
  2. And you must love your neighbour as yourself.

I constantly try to keep those two commandments.  Yet because I am a fallen creature in a fallen world, I can never achieve perfection.  God knows this and loves me regardless of my shortcomings.  If I believe and I repent from my sins, I am saved.

Christianity is not a religion.  Religion is how man explains God.  Christianity is how God reveals himself to man.

I believe it is important in this world of constant media and technology for us to recognize the difference between scripture and religious doctrine.  Man is not perfect and that goes for the church, which is run by men.  I go to church every Sunday, and I have a wonderful group of Pastors.  But they are men, and as men suffer from the same imperfections as I.  So I constantly try to keep my eyes, ears, and heart upward towards God.

That is my faith.

2 thoughts on “My Faith…

  1. Actually Jesus left us with just one commandment “…love one another as I have loved you” Follow that and you are a true Christian.

    Like

  2. thanks jersey. I appreciate your comment. I was referring to the book of Matthew where he was asked which of the commandments are the greatest.

    Like

Comments are closed.