The World Keeps Spinning and There’s No Time To Waste

As we get closer to Christmas, I am reflecting more and more about my life. Christmas means different things to different people, but generally most people think of Christmas as a time of giving and getting together with family and friends. For me of course, it is more than that. It is about the birth of my personal savior, Jesus Christ. The giving and rejoicing starts there, as we reflect on His sinless life, and the message he was sending to the world by his example.

But I do recognize that not everyone is a Christian, and that Christmas may mean something different to you. But as I was saying, it causes me to reflect on my past. When I look back at the last 43 years, I have had 43 Christmas stories. Some have been very joyful, and others have been very sad. But the constant in my life has always been my family. I have never really been alone on Christmas, even if some years I felt I was. I have been so blessed to have a united family around me that made it a point to get together on Christmas and thank God for everything we have.

As the title to this post states, the world keeps spinning and there’s no time to waste. That statement is not my own creation. It is taken from a song by Jack Johnson called Upside Down. It stood out to me, because as we get closer to Christmas, I have been pausing to reflect on how quickly time passes as we go about our normal everyday activities. For me, 43 years have past in what now seems like a blink of an eye, and it causes me to think about how I have spent the years God has blessed me with on this earth. Have I used them wisely? Could I have done things differently? What does He have in store for me in the future?

As I write this, one thing stands out. I have wasted time. There are snapshots in my mind from my past I wish I could change. I look back at all the times I was arrogant. I look back at all of the times I argued, fought, or worried about things that today are so pointless. So much time wasted. I remember the friends I lost, the people I offended, the good work I squandered. I mean, if you look at my life, I wasn’t constantly causing trouble or squandering my time. I am generally happy with my life. But as a fallen creature in a fallen world, there have been plenty of times I did stupid things. Time wasted my friends, time wasted.

But I also believe things happen for a reason. Without every one of those incidents where I foolishly wasted time, I would not be the person I am today. Obviously I would not be writing this blog post, and you would not be reading it. It is quite an awesome thing to consider, this thing called life. Moments in time, strung together, that in its entirety, makes up my existence, my identity. Without my regrets, without my mistakes, without my sin, I would not have grown as a person. However, having grown from my mistakes does not mean I should repeat them. It means I know better today. So I argue a little less. I fight a little less. I appreciate a little more. Things I would dismiss or walk past today, I stop to take in today. My priorities are certainly different today than they were 20 years ago.

So how has this Christmas caused you to ponder about your past?

2 thoughts on “The World Keeps Spinning and There’s No Time To Waste

  1. This is a very reflective post…and now I have Jack Johnson in my head. =)
    I haven’t done my pondering yet this year. Things have been changing on a daily basis –I’m still spinning!

    Like

Comments are closed.