Psalm 25


To You, O LORD, I lift up my soul.
O my God, I trust in You; Let me not be ashamed; Let not my enemies triumph over me.
Indeed, let no one who waits on You be ashamed; Let those be ashamed who deal treacherously without cause.

It can be difficult in today’s society, to simply say I am going to wait on the Lord, trust in Him to reveal His path for me, to simply relinquish control, and not be ashamed to say I will put my cares and worries on Him, and let Him deal with them. Yet that is what we are to do. There is no shame is saying you can’t do it alone, and you need to pray that God will show you the way.

Show me Your ways, O LORD; Teach me Your paths.
Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; On You I wait all the day.

Knowledge.

Isn’t that really what we all want in the end? We want to know what God expects of us, what He wants for our lives. He has been so gracious as to reveal His word to us, and through it we can learn the absolute truth of His salvation for us through His son, Jesus Christ.

Remember, O LORD, Your tender mercies and Your lovingkindnesses, For they are from of old.
Do not remember the sins of my youth, nor my transgressions; According to Your mercy remember me, For Your goodness’ sake, O LORD.

As fallen creatures, we are prone to sin. There is no doubt that God’s standard is too high for us to ever achieve. We can never reach perfection, as such we all fall short of the glory of God. We need a savior – all of us. We need forgiveness – all of us. Our hope is that in His forgiveness, He forgets our sins, that they are washed away, never to return.

Good and upright is the LORD; Therefore He teaches sinners in the way.
The humble He guides in justice, And the humble He teaches His way.
All the paths of the LORD are mercy and truth, To such as keep His covenant and His testimonies.
For Your name’s sake, O LORD, Pardon my iniquity, for it is great.

He is not only good, He is the definition of good. Here we see the cornerstone of our faith – humility. We are taught to lower ourselves, and by doing so we are granted eternal justice. We are asked to recognize the truth of sin, the truth of the consequences of Pride. The Psalmist recognizes his great failure in achieving the perfect state of humility and asks for forgiveness

Who is the man that fears the LORD? Him shall He teach in the way He chooses.
He himself shall dwell in prosperity, And his descendants shall inherit the earth.
The secret of the LORD is with those who fear Him, And He will show them His covenant.
My eyes are ever toward the LORD, For He shall pluck my feet out of the net.

The word fear is used here, but really we can think of it as reverence, and respect. To those that fear the Lord, prosperity is promised. Careful here, prosperity is not what you may think. God is not promising an earthly form of prosperity, but rather the true happiness of eternal salvation, the true freedom from the chains that bind us to sin. To those that fear the Lord, He will form His covenant, the promise from Heaven that can never be broken. He will pluck man from the fisherman’s net, not to be consumed by this world, but achieving eternal life.

Turn Yourself to me, and have mercy on me, For I am desolate and afflicted.
The troubles of my heart have enlarged; Bring me out of my distresses!
Look on my affliction and my pain, And forgive all my sins.
Consider my enemies, for they are many; And they hate me with cruel hatred.
Keep my soul, and deliver me; Let me not be ashamed, for I put my trust in You.
Let integrity and uprightness preserve me, For I wait for You.

Redeem Israel, O God, Out of all their troubles!

Finally, a humble plea to God, to have mercy on our souls, recognizing our broken state. We recognize sin as breaking our hearts, bringing us distress, and pain. We ask again that the Lord forgive our sins, mending our hearts in the process. We ask God to stand with us against our enemies, those that would tempt us to sin. We ask that He protect our soul, giving us the strength to put our full trust in Him. At the end, we see a plea for truth and goodness to preserve our souls, while we wait for God to reveal His holy plan for our lives

