Christian Words – Introduction

I have decided to begin a discussion of words. Oh, but not just any words, my dear virtual friend. I am going to discuss the words which I believe are central to Christianity. I am sure you have heard all of these words before. I will take each one within the coming days, and write about what I believe these words mean to a Christan, and how I believe we should incorporate these words into our daily faith.

To start the process, I did a little brainstorming. I just wrote down a bunch of words that had anything to do with God, faith, and Christianity. At the end, I was left with eight words. Yes I know that many of you will disagree with the words I chose. My list was not meant to be a reason for debate. I realize there are many other words I could have chosen. However, this is the list that I came up with, and the list I guess is reflective of where I am with my faith.

So this initial post is the list of words I chose, and their definitions. The definitions I chose came straight from Webster’s dictionary online. of course, they are not the full definition, as I chose the definitions that most reflect what I will write about. If you want to know more about the definitions, feel free to click here to go to Websters online.

Jesus – Jesus of Nazareth; the Son of Mary source of the Christian religion & Savior in the Christian faith

Sin – a: transgression of the law of God b : a vitiated state of human nature in which the self is estranged from God

Love – unselfish loyal and benevolent concern for the good of another: as (1) : the fatherly concern of God for humankind (2) : brotherly concern for others.
strong affection for another arising out of kinship or personal ties. attraction based on sexual desire : affection and tenderness felt by lovers. Affection based on admiration, benevolence, or common interests.

Grace – unmerited divine assistance given humans for their regeneration or sanctification

Forgiveness – a : to give up resentment of or claim to requital for b : to grant relief from payment of

Humility – from humble, not proud or haughty. not arrogant or assertive. reflecting, expressing, or offered in a spirit of deference or submission

Faith – Allegiance to duty or a person : loyalty b (1): fidelity to one’s promises (2) : sincerity of intentions. a (1) : belief and trust in and loyalty to God (2) : belief in the traditional doctrines of a religion b (1) : firm belief in something for which there is no proof (2) : complete trust

Salvation – a : deliverance from the power and effects of sin b : the agent or means that effects salvation c Christian Science : the realization of the supremacy of infinite Mind over all bringing with it the destruction of the illusion of sin, sickness, and death

Please be aware that my discussions of these words will overlap a great deal. You can’t really discuss Jesus without talking about all of the other words. You can’t talk about Sin without including grace, forgiveness and some of the others. I will take each word, and discuss it, without worrying about any overlap with the other words.

Stay tuned…

3 thoughts on “Christian Words – Introduction

  1. The Stages Of Me
    Hello I am a new author and new blogger ~ If anyone would like to give input on improving my blog, share some discussion and or check out my book, I would be honored. My book was a decision inspired by faith, given to me by God. It is my story not unlike your stories but, I am thankful to be able to share it and hopefully help or inspire others in times of trials. Thanks for any input good or bad because all is helpful for personal growth.
    ~ I have to say I have witnessed some beautiful Godly things as of late. Is it me or are some people becoming a little less guarded and actively following God’s plan for them. To wake up and say good morning to a brand new day a day for me to give myself completely to God’s plan for me. This is the least I can do as He gave the CROSS. No gift, no human word, no act of work will measure up. I can however try to be a little like Christ. I can be open and compassionate and available and a good listener. I can use talents given to promote healing of brothers and sisters and give love and gentleness to those who do not yet know God and the plan He has for their life~ Maybe for your life~ Be open. In my Stages I have learned to listen intently for the Holy Spirit and sometimes it is so surreal and clear ~ one must be open to direction at all times then the results are so amazing…Feel free to ask me about my book ~The Stages Of ME it here http://kathyhenderson.wordpress.com or for more information on the book The stages Of Me see the following link to business page on FB http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Stages-Of-Me/177152682317454

    Like

  2. God Bless You also, any journey for Christ is so amazing. I too am learning so much along the way. I am so happy to find some really wonderful people here. Who knew, Well God of course 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.