The Power of Pride

High school football player Isayah Muller.

He just led his team to a championship win.

He is dead now.

He was killed in New York after his father discovered a bottle of cologne missing from their car after a graduation ceremony.  When he noticed the bottle missing, he turned the car around and confronted the parking attendants.  The argument became violent, his son got involved, and was stabbed as a result.

Now we have one less 19 year old in the world, victim of a senseless murder because his father couldn’t live without a bottle of cologne.

Tell me America, that we don’t need a little more God in our lives, and a little less pride and conceit.

Tell me we don’t need to get on our knees and ask God to intervene in our lives.

Wake up America and start realizing what is important, before we destroy ourselves.

“Therefore pride compasseth them about as a chain; violence covereth them as a garment. ”
–Psalm 73:6

The fear of the Lord is hatred of evil. Pride and arrogance and the way of evil and perverted speech I hate.
–Proverbs 8:13


And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ The second is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”
Mark 12:30-31

5 thoughts on “The Power of Pride

  1. I almost didn’t read this when I saw the title in my subscription list, because I assumed you had written about how wonderful it is to be proud of our accomplishments. But I was curious, so I clicked on the link, and was pleasantly surprised to find just the opposite. You have done a great job of showing the negative power of pride. It is, I believe, the root of all sin. There just isn’t enough humility these days. Peace, Linda

    Like

    • Thanks for your comments Linda. It pains me to see stories like these, a life cut down like that over a bottle of cologne. I am amazed sometimes the depths that we can fall to when we allow this fallen world to consume us.

      God Bless…

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Power of Pride | Kids say :

Comments are closed.