Starting this again…..

I haven’t really had the motivation to blog in a while.  My wife and I have gone through quite a bit over the years since I last wrote.

But….

We are foster parents now.

While I cannot for privacy reasons talk about our specific placement, I can talk about our experience in general.

As I held the hands of a precious child of God last night, I realized something.

I don’t know how long you will be with us.  It could be days, weeks, months, years….

I cannot waste time.  Whatever you need, I need to provide now.  There is no time to waste.

Then I think, shouldn’t it be like that for all parents? Why waste time?  Do we ever really know how long God will give us?

I cannot imagine being in a situation where I am pulled from my mother’s arms and handed to complete strangers.  I cannot imagine being in a situation where the ones I count on most in my world – my parents – cannot be a source of safety and comfort.  Yet this is the case for the child attached to these hands I am holding.

So I am reminded of what the bible says about children.

“Whoever receives one such child in my name receives me, and whoever receives me, receives not me but him who sent me.” Mark 9:37

God please give me the wisdom to do right by this child.

 

 

